5 Languages of Love ❤️

5 Languages of Love ❤️

The 5 Love Languages is a best-selling book written by Dr. Gary Chapman, who spent 30 years performing marriage counseling for couples. Through his experiences, he was able to break down the different ways couples express love for each other.

The Love languages describe the way we feel loved and appreciated. Depending on our individual personality types, we may feel loved differently than how our partners do. Understanding and decoding the love languages will help take the guesswork out of your partner’s expectations and needs. According to Dr. Chapman, there are five love languages: Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch.  

#1 Words of affirmation

Encourage, afirm, appreciate and listen actively. Saying “I love you”, “I’m proud of you” “You’re amazing” will go a long way for someone who’s love language is words of affirmation.

#2 Quality time

Uninterrupted and focused conversations. One on one time is important. Lose the smartphone and turn off the TV, make time to focus solely on your partner.

#3 Receiving gifts

Thoughtfulness, make your Spouse a priority. Showing effort by gifting items, however big or small.

#4 Acts of service

Let them know you are wanting to help, to lighten their load. For some people actions speak louder than words, start by making dinner or do a chore that your partner normally does.

#5 Physical touch

Non-verbal use of body language and touch to show love. Reach out for your spouse's hand when your walking, put your arm around them when other people are in the room - just some little ways to show them how much you care.

Don’t know your love language? Take this quiz to find your love language.


Leave a comment